Captures éditions

In the course of a four-way  discussion Béatrice Balcou talks about the creation of her Untitled Ceremonies – low-key performances presenting works by other artists – and her Assistance Pieces and Placebo Works; and in doing so reveals how she involves us in a “community of attentiveness”. 

In performances, sculptures and installations Béatrice Balcou creates situations offering innovative exhibition rituals that challenge our way of looking at and perceiving objects and the relationship between working gesture, care-giving gesture and choreographic gesture.

Digressions

Initiated in 2017 by Julie Pellegrin and the Centre for Contemporary Art team in collaboration with Captures éditions, Digressions is a series of interviews (bilingual French / English) that accompanies the programme. Through conversations with guest artists, the notebooks give behind the scenes access and bear witness to reflections, research, methodologies and sometimes the doubts and the trial and error that feed the working process. By giving a voice to artists, the entire collection brings out very singular voices that resonate with each other and explore shared questions around the performance and creation of exhibitions, the physical and political engagement and the decompartmentalization of disciplines.

For each issue, the colour of the cover paper is changed, with or without embossing, to distinguish the publication in relation to each artistic project. The inside pages are printed in one pantone tone and the switch to English language materializes in a double page image drawn from research work. Postcards from the exhibitions are printed and inserted randomly into the notebooks like bookmarks. Claire Moreux’s elegant and dynamic layout follows the meanders of reflection by inviting the reader to navigate, literally, through the text.

Biographies

Christophe Gallois has been a curator at Mudam Luxembourg since 2007, focusing on concepts including time, language, the image, sound, and the spatial interconnections between books and exhibitions. His interest in Béatrice Balcou’s work date back many years. 

Émilie Renard is a curator and art critic. From 2012 to 2018 she was director of La Galerie, Centre for Contemporary Art in Noisy-le-Sec, where in 2016 she and curator Vanessa Desclaux organised a one-year exhibition entitled Your Hands in My Shoes that included the work of Béatrice Balcou. 

Julie Pellegrin is the director of the Ferme du Buisson Centre fort Contemporary Art (2005-2020). 

 

32 pages
21,5 x 13,5 cm
Postcard
French / English
Authors: Béatrice Balcou, Christophe Gallois, Julie Pellegrin, Émilie Renard
Graphic design: Claire Moreux
Publisher: Captures éditions / Ferme du Buisson
General editor: Valérie Cudel with Julie Pellegrin
Editoral coordination: Céline Bertin
Copyeditor: Sophie Streefkerk
English translation: John Tittensor
This sixth book in the Digressions series appears with the aid of the publications fund of the National Centre for Visual Arts

ISBN : 978-2-9558778-7-6
1 issue = 6,00 € 3 issues = 13,50 € 6 issues = 27,00 € 9 issues = 40,50 € 6 postcards = 3,00 €

Clear

Captures éditions

Pour le sixième titre de la collection, Béatrice Balcou décide de s’entretenir avec Emilie Renard, Christophe Gallois et Julie Pellegrin. Au cours de cette discussion à quatre voix elle revient sur la création de ses Cérémonies Sans-Titre – performances anti-spectaculaires mettant en scène des œuvres d’autres artistes –, Pièces Assistantes ou Œuvres placebos, révélant la manière dont elle nous engage dans « une communauté d’attention ».

Par le biais de performances, de sculptures et d’installations, Béatrice Balcou crée des situations au cours desquelles elle propose de nouveaux rituels d’exposition qui interrogent notre manière de regarder et de percevoir les objets, la relation entre geste et travail, geste de soin et geste chorégraphique.

Digressions

Initiée en 2017 par Julie Pellegrin et l’équipe du Centre d’art contemporain La Ferme du Buisson en collaboration avec les éditions Captures, Digressions est une collection d’entretiens (bilingue français / anglais) qui accompagne la programmation du Centre d’art. Par le biais de conversations avec les artistes invités, les carnets donnent accès aux coulisses des projets et témoignent des réflexions, des recherches, des méthodologies et parfois des doutes ou des tâtonnements qui nourrissent un processus de travail. En donnant la parole aux artistes, l’ensemble de la collection fait entendre des voix très singulières qui résonnent néanmoins les unes avec les autres pour explorer des questions partagées autour de la performance et de l’écriture de l’exposition, de l’engagement corporel et politique, du décloisonnement des disciplines.

Pour chaque numéro s’opère un changement de couleur du papier de couverture avec ou sans embossage, singularisant les parutions en relation avec le projet artistique. Les pages intérieures sont imprimées en un ton pantone et le passage à la langue anglaise est matérialisé par une image en double page issue du travail de recherche. Des cartes postales des expositions sont imprimées et insérées de manière aléatoire au sein des carnets à la manière de marque-pages.  La mise en page élégante et dynamique signée Claire Moreux épouse les méandres de la réflexion en invitant le lecteur à naviguer, littéralement, dans le texte.

Biographies 

Christophe Galois est, depuis 2007, curateur au Mudam Luxembourg. Sa pratique curatoriale s’articule autour de notions telles que le temps, le langage, l’image, le son et les relations entre l’espace du livre et l’espace d’exposition. Il suit le travail de Béatrice Balcou depuis de nombreuses années. 

Émilie Renard est commissaire d’exposition et critique d’art. De 2012 à 2018 elle a dirigé La Galerie, centre d’art contemporain de Noisy-le-Sec. En 2016, elle a développé avec la curatrice Vanessa Desclaux, une exposition sur la durée d’une année intitulée Tes mains dans mes chaussures à laquelle a participé Béatrice Balcou. 

Julie Pellegrin, directrice du Centre d’art contemporain de la Ferme du Buisson et directrice artistique du festival Performance Day (2007-2020)

 

32 pages
21,5 x 13,5 cm
Carte postale
Français / anglais
Texte : Béatrice Balcou, Christophe Gallois, Julie Pellegrin, Émilie Renard
Graphisme : Claire Moreux
Coédition : Captures éditions / Ferme du Buisson
Direction éditoriale : Valérie Cudel en collaboration avec Julie Pellegrin
Coordination : Céline Bertin
Relecture : Sophie Streefkerk
Traduction : John Tittensor
Publié avec le soutien à l'édition du Centre national des arts plastiques

ISBN : 978-2-9558778-7-6
1 ex. = 6,00 €
3 ex. = 13,50 €
6 ex. = 27,00 €
9 ex. = 40,50 €
6 cartes postales = 3,00 €



Effacer