Captures éditions

Enquête sur le/notre dehors (Valence-le-Haut) < 2007 – … > à la date du 24 avril 2012 tdocuments a singular experience led by Alejandra Riera with and on the initiative of the inhabitants of the Fontbarlettes district located on the periphery of Valence, a city in the Drôme department of southeastern France.

Noticing a strong stigmatization and a very downgraded image of their district, the customers and inhabitants designed a commission intended «to reveal the ways in which the inhabitants appropriate this constantly transforming space». The publication is one of the responses to this commission that became an experience of collective research leading to unforeseen forms and engagements.

This was translated initially through normal exchanges (and not through images), exchanges that established the base material of a film-document and of the publication itself. The ensemble of images and texts was realised according to a polyphonic definition of the author’s notion and proposes an «image of collective thought», which does not close a supposedly ‘sensitive’ area in on itself. On the contrary, it introduces links with an outside far vaster than that of a unique territory, so formulating ‘the between’ and the unsaid, while deconstructing the place and the role of the image for beings in zones of exclusion.

Structurally, the publication presents a braiding of the survey materials, consisting of twelve reworked exchanges with the inhabitants followed by «footnotes» written by Alejandra Riera – often an outside of the exchanges themselves; then thirty-nine composite image plates with captions, which add another layer of reflection. The image plates are printed on voile de papier to cloud their legibility thus encouraging each of us to make his own interpretation. A passage towards abstraction between opacity and consistency, ‘This image of collective thought on the place in which we live is also all these other images within. An image that shows itself close by, behind or in front of others; it does not settle, it sees itself crossed by others, it asks to be abandoned or recomposed, thought into the heart of all the book’s materials and of those that we will miss’. (A.R)

With the cooperation of Jo and Naïma Pino, Hafida Kada, Marion Barras, Amel, Mohamad-Ali Osman and their children, Pierre Pellet, Catherine [Marie-Jeannette Lacoste], Ahmad Qamouch, Luc Fontaine, Rachid and Rachida Zahri, Michèle and Éliane Blache, Daniel and Suzanne Anquetil, Mohamed Ben Ftima, Meriem Fradj and Xavier Hubert, Mireille Baudron, Alain Nivon, Luc Baylion and Marc Papillon Twelve exchanges, «footnotes» and thirty-nine composite image plates with captions

344 pages
21 x 29,6 cm
Stitched notebooks
Hardcover, embossed
Impression en une couleur
One colour and four-colour printing on voile de papier (semiopaque matt paper) for the image plates
Graphic design: Nicolas Romarie
Published in partnership with art3
Publié avec le soutien à l'édition du Centre national des arts plastiques

ISBN : 978-2-9533912-7-5
25 €
Add to cart

Captures éditions

Enquête sur le/notre dehors (Valence-le-Haut) < 2007 – … > à la date du 24 avril 2012 traduit une expérience singulière menée par Alejandra Riera avec et à l’initiative des habitants/es du quartier de Fontbarlettes situé à la périphérie de Valence ville de la Drôme, dans le sud-est de la France.

Constatant une forte stigmatisation et une image très dégradée de leur quartier, les usagers et habitant.e.s ont formulé une commande destinée à « révéler les manières dont les habitant.e.s se sont approprié cet espace en mutation constante ». L’édition est une des réponses à cette commande devenue une expérience de recherche collective ayant conduit à des engagements et formes non programmés.

Cela s’est traduit dans les premiers moments par des échanges réguliers (et non par l’image), échanges qui constituaient le matériau de base d’un film-document et de la publication. L’ensemble images/textes a été réalisé selon une définition polyphonique de la notion d’auteur, et propose une « image de pensée collective » qui n’enferme pas la zone dite sensible sur elle-même. Elle introduit bien au contraire des liens avec un dehors beaucoup plus vaste que celui d’un territoire unique, formulant ainsi « l’entre » et le non-dit tout en déconstruisant la place et le rôle de l’image pour des êtres dans des zones d’exclusion.

Dans sa construction, la publication offre un tressage des matériaux de l’enquête composés par douze échanges retravaillés avec ces habitants/es qui se poursuivent par des « notes de bas de pages » écrites par Alejandra Riera – souvent un hors-champ aux échanges eux-mêmes ; puis trente-neuf planches images et leurs légendes qui viennent révéler une autre strate de réflexion. L’impression de ces planches images sur un voile de papier trouble leur lecture pour inciter chacun à trouver sa propre lumière pour les appréhender. Passage vers l’abstraction entre opacité et consistance, « cette image de pensée collective du lieu que l’on habite est aussi toutes ces images autres en elle. Une image qui se révèle à côté, derrière ou devant d’autres. Elle ne se fixe pas, elle se voit traversée, elle demande à être abandonnée ou recomposée, pensée au sein de tous les matériaux du livre et de ceux qui nous manqueront (A.R.) ».

Alejandra Riera avec la participation de Jo et Naïma Pino ; Hafida Kada ; Marion Barras ; Amel, Mohamad-Ali Osman et leurs enfants ; Pierre Pellet ; Catherine [Marie-Jeannette] Lacoste ; Ahmad Qamouch ; Luc Fontaine ; Rachid et Rachida Zahri ; Michèle et Éliane Blache ; Daniel et Suzanne Anquetil ; Mohamed Ben Ftima ; Meriem Fradj et Xavier Hubert ; Mireille Baudron ; Alain Nivon ; Luc Baylion ; Marc Papillon
Douze échanges, « notes de bas de pages » et trente-neuf planches images et légendes

344 pages
21 x 29,6 cm
Cahiers cousus
Couverture cartonnée, marquage à chaud
Impression en une couleur
Quadrichromie sur voile de papier pour les planches images
Graphisme : Nicolas Romarie
Coédité avec art3
Publié avec le soutien à l'édition du Centre national des arts plastiques

ISBN : 978-2-9533912-7-5
25 €
Ajouter au panier