Captures éditions

The two notebooks record a singular experience: a commission given by Beaumont’s (Ardèche) elected officials to Construire architecture studio – Patrick Bouchain, Sébastien Eymard, Loïc Julienne and Jean Lautrey – to construct eight social housing units. This bold initiative for a village of two hundred inhabitants is part of the pursuit of a municipal development policy to make housing accessible to all. It aims to counter the devitalization of villages due to a growing pressure on the land, to help set up young workers, and to maintain the staff of the single-class communal school.

The first notebook, polyphonic, tells the story of this collective adventure. It traces the elected officials’ commitment (within the New Patrons programme); the different stages of the project beginning with the PLU; the meeting with the architects, which leads, among other things, to an evolution of the specifications, but especially to a sharing of the same values: to involve the future inhabitants in the design of their future home, to encourage building your own home, and to give the act of building a cultural, collective and festive dimension.

This story is also a reflection of endurance: It took eight years from the first meeting with Patrick Bouchain to the second stage of building three houses. The successive dissuasions and the obstacles encountered when the social housing norm is questioned are exposed, but there is also a commentary on the life of a building site, on the enthusiasm of the companies involved in constructing the houses, and the testimony of the first inhabitants of the Bogues de Blat.

The second notebook comprises a facsimile of the sketchbook that Patrick Bouchain took to each meeting at Beaumont. Besides the beauty of his drawings, Patrick Bouchain shows us his first glimpse of the chestnut forest, a dream-like moment when he discovered the site. The notebook provides access to a thought process and to the key concepts of the Bogues de Blat in dialogue with the site, while recalling the values ​​of the architect and those of Construire architecture studio on modes of living.

The combination of the two notebooks shows the reader the project’s beauty.

With the contribution of Beaumont’s elected representatives: Jean-Rémi Durand Gasselin, Jacqueline Mielle, Pascal Waldschmidt; architects Patrick Bouchain and Loïc Julienne, the residents of Bogues and the companies involved in constructing the houses; Catherine Flament and Valérie Cudel.

Published with the support of the Rhône-Alpes Region and the Fondation de France as part of the New Patrons programme.

21 x 29,7 cm
Two 48-page notebooks
Two bronze pins
Printing of texts, photographs and drawings in the four-colour process
Graphic design: Nicolas Romarie with the help of Jocelyne Fracheboud
Published within the Fondation de France’s New Patrons programme and with the support of the Rhône-Alpes Region

ISBN : ISBN 978 2 9558778-4-5
25 €
Add to cart

Captures éditions

Une réalisation dans le cadre des Nouveaux commanditaires de la Fondation de France

Les deux carnets révèlent une expérience singulière, la commande des élus de Beaumont (Ardèche) de huit logements sociaux adressée à Construire : Patrick Bouchain, Sébastien Eymard, Loïc Julienne et Jean Lautrey. Cette initiative audacieuse pour un village de deux cents habitants, s’inscrit néanmoins dans la poursuite d’une politique municipale de développement de logements accessibles à tous et vise à contrer la dévitalisation des villages liée à une pression foncière croissante, à favoriser l’installation de jeunes actifs, à maintenir les effectifs de l’école communale à classe unique.

Le premier carnet, polyphonique, est le lieu du récit de cette aventure collective. Il retrace l’engagement des élus, un processus de travail (dans le cadre de l’action Nouveaux commanditaires), les différentes étapes du projet en commençant par le PLU, la rencontre avec les architectes qui conduit, entre autres, à une évolution du cahier des charges mais surtout au partage de mêmes valeurs : impliquer les futurs habitants dans la conception de leur future maison, favoriser l’autoconstruction, donner à l’acte de construire une dimension culturelle, collective, festive.

Ce récit est aussi le reflet d’une endurance, de la première rencontre avec Patrick Bouchain jusqu’à la réalisation des trois maisons de la deuxième tranche, huit années ont été nécessaires. Sont exposées les dissuasions successives et les freins rencontrés lorsque la norme du logement social est interrogée. Mais c’est aussi la lecture d’une vie du chantier et d’un enthousiasme des entreprises, d’un témoignage des premiers habitants des « Bogues du Blat ».

Le second est un fac-similé du carnet d’étude de Patrick Bouchain qui l’accompagnait pour chaque réunion à Beaumont. Au-delà de la beauté de ses dessins, Patrick Bouchain nous livre son premier regard sur le terrain de la châtaigneraie, pause onirique dans ce moment de rencontre avec le lieu. Le carnet nous facilite l’accès à un processus de pensée, aux clefs de conception des Bogues du Blat en dialogue avec le site, tout en rappelant les valeurs de l’architecte et celles de l’atelier Construire sur les modes d’habiter.

La réunion des deux publications offre au lecteur la beauté de ce projet.

Avec la contribution de Jean-Rémi Durand Gasselin, Jacqueline Mielle, Pascal Waldschmidt, élus de Beaumont ; Patrick Bouchain et Loïc Julienne, architectes, des habitants des Bogues et des entreprises ayant participé à la construction des maisons ; Catherine Flament et Valérie Cudel.

21 x 29,7 cm
Deux carnets de 48 pages
Deux points métal bronze
Impression des textes, photographies et dessins en quadrichromie
Graphisme : Nicolas Romarie avec le concours de Jocelyne Fracheboud
Édité avec le soutien de la Région Rhône-Alpes et de la Fondation de France dans le cadre de l’action Nouveaux commanditaires

ISBN : ISBN 978 2 9558778-4-5
25 €
Ajouter au panier